QPIP

Markus Tantscher - QPIP since 2019
Florian Miller - QPIP since 2019

Qualified Patent Information Professional

What is QPIP?

Since 2002, international patent search experts have repeatedly considered to make it possible for researchers specialized in intellectual property rights to be certified. However, it wasn’t until several years later when the ISBQPIP (International Standards Board for Qualified Patent Information Professionals) based in The Hague, Netherlands, was officially founded on August 31, 2018. Since then, ISBQPIP has been responsible for the standardized, international certification of IP researchers.

Why be certified?

The goal of being certified is the creation of professional standards. In times of modern information technology, many people think merely using freely available search engines is good enough for conducting professional patent, trademark and design searches. However, that is not true – only the combination of special databases and the knowledge of the necessary query syntax is what makes a professional search.

On top of this, the rapidly increasing number of research companies – particularly in Asian low-wage countries – makes it necessary to highlight sound and well-founded research.

Becoming a research expert by acquiring the necessary tools and the know-how takes several years. This is why a certification aims to make professional researchers stand out from the crowd.

Continued professional development

Once a patent search expert is registered by the international organization, they are obliged to annually prove participation in professional development measures, such as conferences or seminars, in the area of patent searches. Our researchers at ABP have also completed additional training as patent searcher/patent engineer at PATON at the Technische Universität Ilmenau (technical university of Ilmenau, Germany).

Professionally curious

ABP researchers follow an in-house standard of quality and have decades of experience in the area of IP-related searches. Therefore, your search projects are in the best hands at ABP PATENT NETWORK.

Whether it is patent, trademark, or design searches: The quality of the search results depend on the technical and legal knowledge as well as the experience of the researcher. Professional search strategies, their flexible optimization and the ability to recognize synonyms and paraphrases are the key to successful searches.

Our research team members are qualified professionals having a technical background and many years of experience. Converting the questions and objectives of our clients into an accurate result is one of our researchers’ core strengths.

QPIP

Markus Tantscher - QPIP seit 2019
Florian Miller - QPIP seit 2019

Qualified Patent Information Professional

Was ist QPIP?

Seit 2002 gab es von Seiten internationaler Patentrecherchespezialisten immer wieder Überlegungen, Rechercheure welche sich auf Recherchen im Bereich des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes spezialisiert haben, zu zertifizieren. Es sollte aber einige Jahre bis zum 31. August 2018 dauern – dem offiziellen Gründungstag der ISBQPIP Organisation (International Standards Board for Qualified Patent Information Professionals) mit Sitz in Den Haag in den Niederlanden. Seitdem ist die ISBQPIP Organisation zuständig für die standardisierte internationale Zertifizierung von IP-Rechercheuren.

Warum eine Zertifizierung …

Das Ziel einer Zertifizierung ist die Schaffung von professionellen Standards. In Zeiten der modernen Informationstechnologie sind viele der Meinung, dass die Verwendung von frei verfügbaren Suchmaschinen ausreicht, um professionelle Patent-, Marken und Musterrecherchen durchführen zu können. Dem ist aber nicht so – denn spezielle Datenbanken sowie die Kenntnis der erforderlichen Abfragesyntax zeichnen erst eine professionelle Recherche aus.

Zudem macht es die enorm steigende Zahl an Recherchefirmen - speziell im asiatischen Billiglohnbereich - notwendig, fundierte Recherchen besonders hervorzuheben.

Es dauert mehrere Jahre um sich die Werkzeuge bzw. die Erfahrung anzueignen, welche einen Rechercheprofi ausmachen. Daher ist es das Ziel der Zertifizierung die Berufsgruppe der Rechercheure aus der breiten Masse hervorzuheben.

Fortlaufende Weiterbildung

Wurde man einmal als Patentrechercheprofi durch die Internationale Organisation registriert muss man auch die jährliche Weiterbildung im Bereich der Recherchen nachweisen. Dies ist möglich durch Teilnahme an Konferenzen oder Seminaren. Die Rechercheure bei ABP haben auch die weiterführende Ausbildung zum Patentrechercheur/Patentingenieur am PATON der Technischen Universität Ilmenau (DE) abgeschlossen.

Neugier als Profession

Rechercheure bei ABP sind einem hausinternen Qualitätsstandard verpflichtet und bringen auch schon jahrzehntelange Erfahrung im Bereich der Recherchen des gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes mit. Somit sind Ihre Rechercheprojekte bei ABP PATENT NETWORK in den besten Händen.

Egal ob Patent-, Marken- oder Design-Recherchen: Gute Rechercheergebnisse hängen vom technischen und rechtlichen Wissen sowie von der Erfahrung des Rechercheurs ab. Professionelle Suchstrategien, deren flexible Optimierung und die Fähigkeit, Synonyme und Umschreibungen zu erkennen, sind entscheidend für erfolgreiche Recherchen.

Unsere Teammitglieder im Recherchebereich sind qualifizierte Profis mit technischem Background und langjähriger Erfahrung. Die Fragestellungen und Zielsetzungen unserer Kunden in ein treffsicheres Ergebnis zu konvertieren, ist eine ihrer Kernkompetenzen.